## Article 20.

## Joint Legislative Committee on Local Government.

## Part 1. Organization.

## § 120-157.1. Committee established.

(a) The Joint Legislative Committee on Local Government is established. The Committee shall consist of 14 members, appointed as follows:

- (1) Seven members of the Senate appointed by the President Pro Tempore of the Senate, at least two of whom shall be members of the minority party. At least one member shall be a former city or county commissioner, city or county manager, or other city or county elected official.
- (2) Seven members of the House of Representatives appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives, at least two of whom shall be members of the minority party. At least one member shall be a former city or county commissioner, city or county manager, or other city or county elected official.

(b) Terms on the Committee are for two years and begin on the convening of the General Assembly in each odd-numbered year. Members may complete a term of service on the Committee even if they do not seek reelection or are not reelected to the General Assembly, but resignation or removal from service in the General Assembly constitutes resignation or removal from service on the Committee.

(c) A member continues to serve until a successor is appointed. A vacancy shall be filled within 30 days by the officer who made the original appointment. (2011-291, s. 1.8(a).)