Article 6B.

Legislative Research Commission.

§ 120-30.10. Creation; appointment of members; members ex officio.

- (a) There is hereby created a Legislative Research Commission to consist of five Senators to be appointed by the President pro tempore of the Senate and five Representatives to be appointed by the Speaker of the House. The President pro tempore of the Senate and the Speaker of the House, or their designees, shall be ex officio members of the Legislative Research Commission. Provided, that when the President of the Senate has been elected by the Senate from its own membership, then the President of the Senate shall make the appointments of the Senate members of the Legislative Research Commission, shall serve ex officio as a member of the Commission and shall perform the duties otherwise vested in the President pro tempore by G.S. 120-30.13 and 120-30.14.
- (b) The President Pro Tempore of the Senate and the Speaker of the House may appoint additional members of the General Assembly to work with the regular members of the Research Commission on study committees. The terms of the additional study committee members shall be limited by the same provisions as apply to regular commission members, and they may be further limited by the appointing authorities.
- (c) The President Pro Tempore of the Senate and the Speaker of the House may appoint persons who are not members of the General Assembly to advisory subcommittees. The terms of advisory subcommittee members shall be limited by the same provisions as apply to regular Commission members, and they may be further limited by the appointing authorities. (1965, c. 1045, s. 1; 1975, c. 692, s. 1; 2012-194, s. 66.7(a).)

G.S. 120-30.10 Page 1