Article 12E.

Joint Legislative Transportation Oversight Committee.

§ 120-70.50. Creation and membership of Joint Legislative Transportation Oversight Committee.

The Joint Legislative Transportation Oversight Committee is established. The Committee consists of 22 members as follows:

- (1) Eleven members of the Senate appointed by the President Pro Tempore of the Senate, at least three of whom are members of the minority party; and
- (2) Eleven members of the House of Representatives appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives, at least three of whom are members of the minority party.

Terms on the Committee are for two years and begin on January 15 of each odd-numbered year, except the terms of the initial members, which begin on appointment. Members may complete a term of service on the Committee even if they do not seek reelection or are not reelected to the General Assembly, but resignation or removal from service in the General Assembly constitutes resignation or removal from service on the Committee.

A member continues to serve until his successor is appointed. A vacancy shall be filled within 30 days by the officer who made the original appointment. (1989, c. 692, s. 1.2; 1993, c. 321, s. 169.2(a); 2001-486, s. 2.4; 2011-291, s. 1.7(c).)

G.S. 120-70.50 Page 1