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FISCAL IMPACT SUMMARY                                                                                                                                       

 
The proposed bill may have a fiscal impact because of the application of a more stringent penalty 
for each offense.  However, since there is no historical data on this offense, or similar offenses to use 
as a proxy for predicting the total number of offenses, the Fiscal Research Division cannot 
reasonably estimate the total additional costs that may be incurred. The following costs may be 
incurred for every one person charged and convicted of this crime: 
 

 Administrative Office of the Courts: $233-$516 per disposition 
 Indigent Defense Services: $202-$333 per disposition 
 Department of Public Safety (DPS) - Prisons: $3,766 per active sentence 
 DPS - Community Corrections: Minimum of $1,440 per supervised probation sentence 

 
 
Section 8 of the NC Farm Act creates Article 50F, North Carolina Hemp Program, under G.S. 106, 
and established three new misdemeanors and a felony for violations of this article.   
 
Subsection (a) creates a new Class I felony for any person to “willfully, knowingly, or intentionally 
manufacture, distribute, dispense, deliver, purchase, aid, abet, attempt, or conspire to 
manufacture, distribute, dispense, deliver, purchase, or possesses with the intent to manufacture, 

FISCAL IMPACT OF S.B. 315, V.2  ($ in millions)

FY 2019-20 FY 2020-21 FY 2021-22 FY 2022-23 FY 2023-24

State Impact

General Fund Revenue -                  -                  -                  -                  -                  
Less Expenditures -                  -                  -                  -                  -                  

General Fund Impact

NET STATE IMPACT

 No Estimate Available - Refer to Fiscal Analysis section 

 No Estimate Available - Refer to Fiscal Analysis section 



 Page 2 of 6 June 11, 2019    FISCAL RESEARCH DIVISION 

 

distribute, dispense, deliver, or purchase marijuana on property used for hemp production, or in a 
manner intended to disguise the marijuana due to its proximity to hemp.”    
 
Subsection (b) creates a Class 1 misdemeanor for providing false or misleading information in 
relation to a license application or renewal.  
 
Subsection (c) creates a Class 1 misdemeanor for anyone tampering with a hemp crop. 
 
Subsection (d) creates a Class 1 misdemeanor for anyone “to knowingly or intentionally 
manufacture, deliver, sell, or possess smokable hemp, except for hemp plants or parts of a hemp 
plant grown or handled by a licensee for processing or manufacturing into a legal hemp product.” 
 

FISCAL ANALYSIS                                                                                                                           

General 
 
The Sentencing and Policy Advisory Commission prepares prison population projections for each 
bill containing a criminal penalty.  The Commission assumes for such bills that expanding existing 
or creating new criminal offenses produces no deterrent or incapacitative effect on 
crime.  Therefore, the Fiscal Research Division does not assume deterrent effects for any criminal 
penalty bill.     
 
S.L. 2011-192, the Justice Reinvestment Act (JRA), made changes to North Carolina’s court system, 
corrections system (both to prisons and probation), and to post-release supervision. All active 
sentences for felony offenses now result in a minimum of twelve months of post-release supervision 
(PRS) for B1-E level offenses and a minimum of nine months of PRS for F-I level offenses.   
 
JRA also created the Statewide Misdemeanant Confinement Program (SMCP) for housing 
misdemeanants with sentences between 90 and 180 days in county jails (misdemeanants with 
shorter sentences were already the responsibility of the counties).  County participation in the 
program is voluntary.  The SMCP pays participating counties for misdemeanants’ housing, 
transportation, and medical costs.  In 2014, the program was expanded to include all 
misdemeanants with sentences longer than 90 days.  The Sentencing and Policy Advisory 
Commission does not track county jail capacity, so it is not possible to estimate the impact of new 
or increased misdemeanor penalties on county jails. 
 
Judicial Branch 
 
The Administrative Office of the Courts provides Fiscal Research with a fiscal impact analysis for 
most criminal penalty bills.  For such bills, fiscal impact is typically based on the assumption that 
court time will increase due to anticipated increases in trials and corresponding increases in 
workload for judges, clerks, and prosecutors.  This increased court time is also expected to result in 
greater expenditures for jury fees and indigent defense. 
 
Section 8 subsection (a) of the bill creates a new Class I felony offense.  Because this is a new offense, 
AOC does not have historical data upon which to estimate the number of charges that might occur.  
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AOC provides estimates of the average cost to the court for a charge by offense class.  For every 
additional person charged with a Class I felony, the average cost to the court would be $516.  In 
addition the bill creates a series of new Class 1 misdemeanors.  Because these are new offenses, AOC 
does not have historical data upon which to estimate the number of charges that might occur.  AOC 
provides estimates of the average cost to the court for a charge by offense class.  For every additional 
person charged with a Class 1 misdemeanor, the average cost to the court would be $233.   
 
The Office of Indigent Defense Services (IDS) provides Fiscal Research with the frequency and cost 
of indigent defense services for each level of crime, including the cost differentials for district and 
superior court with and without a trial and the percentage of cases handled in each category.  Fiscal 
Research used this data to calculate a weighted average of IDS costs.   
 
In FY 2017-18, the most recent year data is available, 68% of Class I felony cases were handled 
through IDS.  The weighted average cost of a new Class I felony is $333 per case for a private 
appointed counsel (PAC) attorney.  In addition, 39% of Class 1 misdemeanor cases were handled 
through IDS.  The weighted average cost of a new Class 1 misdemeanor is $202 per case for a private 
appointed counsel (PAC) attorney. These estimates assume the appointment of a PAC attorney. In 
districts that have Public Defender offices, cases may be handled by those offices.  In those instances, 
this cost may not be incurred. 
 
Department of Public Safety – Prisons  
 
This bill creates new Class 1 misdemeanor offenses.  The North Carolina Sentencing and Policy 
Advisory Commission expects no impact on the prison population because all misdemeanor 
offenders who receive active sentences will serve them in the local jail.   
 
The chart below depicts the projected inmate population relative to available prison bed capacity 
system-wide.  Capacity projections assume operation at Expanded Operating Capacity,1 and 
represent the total number of beds in operation, or authorized for construction or operation as of 
December 2018.   
 
Based on the most recent population projections and estimated bed capacity, there are surplus 
prison beds available for the five-year fiscal note horizon and beyond. Therefore, no additional beds 
will be required unless the projected number of additional inmates resulting from a bill (row four) 
exceeds the projected number of beds under the inmate population (row three).  Rows four and five 
in the chart demonstrate the impact of the bill.  As shown, the Sentencing Commission estimates 
that this specific legislation will add (total) inmates to the prison system by the end of FY 2019-20.  
   
 
 
 
 

                                                 
1 Expanded Operating Capacity (EOC) is:  1) the number of single cells housing one inmate, 2) the number of single cells housing two 
inmates, and 3) the number of beds in dormitories, allowing between 35 (130% of Standard Operating Capacity) and 50 (SOC) square 
feet per inmate.   
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Population Projections and Bed Capacity 

Five Year Impact 
 

 June 30 June 30 June 30 June 30 June 30 
 2020 2021 2022 2023 2024 

1. Inmates2 36,452 36,867 37,231 37,433 37,702 

2. Prison Beds (Expanded Capacity) 38,225 38,225 38,225 38,225 38,225 

3. Beds Over/(Under) Inmate 
Population 

1,773 1,358 994 792 523 

4. Additional Inmates Due to this 
Bill3 

 
No estimate 

available 
  

5. Additional Beds Required      
 
Since the bill creates a new offense, the Sentencing Commission does not have any historical data 
from which to estimate the impact of this bill on the prison population. A threshold analysis is 
provided when it is not known how many offenders might be convicted and sentenced as a result of 
the proposed change.  For each offense class, the threshold estimate is the number of convictions 
that result in the need for one prison bed in the first year.   
 
In FY 2017-18, 15% of Class I felony convictions resulted in active sentences, with an average 
estimated time served of 7 months. The following table shows the estimated annual impact if there 
were 10 convictions (the threshold) or 20 convictions for this proposed offense per year.  The five 
year estimate takes into account the combination of active sentences and probation and post-
release supervision violations resulting in confinement, as well as growth rates adopted by the 
Sentencing Commission’s Forecasting Technical Advisory Group.   
 

Estimated Prison Bed Impact Using Threshold Convictions and 20 Convictions 
Class I Felony 

Convictions Year 1 Year 2 Year 3 Year 4 Year 5 
10 (Threshold) 1 2 2 2 2 

20 2 5 5 5 5 
 
In addition to the capital costs that may be associated with additional bed needs, there are also per 
diem costs for housing inmates.  The cost to add one additional inmate to the prison system is $17.69 
per day, or $538 per month, which includes the cost of food, clothing, and health care.  In FY 2017-
18, 15% of Class I felony offenders received active sentences averaging 7 months.  For every one 

                                                 
2 The Sentencing and Policy Advisory Commission prepares inmate population projections annually.  These projections are derived 
from:  historical information on incarceration and release rates under Structured Sentencing; crime rate forecasts by a technical 
advisory group; probation and offender revocation rates; and the decline (parole and max-outs) of the stock prison population 
sentenced under prior sentencing acts.   Projections were updated in February 2019. 
 

3 Criminal penalty bills effective December 1, 2019 should not affect prison population and bed needs until FY 2020-21 due to the 
lag time between offense charge and sentencing - six months on average.  No delayed effect is presumed for the Court System. 
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Class I felony offender receiving an active sentence, the cost to the prison section will be $3,766 
($538 monthly cost times 7 months). 
 
Department of Public Safety – Community Corrections  
 
All active sentences for felony offenses now result in a minimum of twelve months of post-release 
supervision (PRS) for B1-E level offenses and a minimum of nine months of PRS for F-I level 
offenses. Additionally, for felony offense classes E through I, offenders may be given non-active 
(intermediate or community) sentences exclusively, or in conjunction with imprisonment (split-
sentence). Sanctions include electronic house arrest, community service, substance abuse 
treatment, participation in educational or vocational skills development, payment of court costs, 
fines, and restitution, and short-term jail sentences not exceeding six days per month.  All 
misdemeanor offenders may face the same non-active sentences as felons. 
 
JRA essentially eliminated the distinction between “community” and “intermediate” supervision. 
Under structured sentencing, the two types of supervision were each defined by a set of specific 
sanctions. Under JRA, both community and intermediate probation may now include electronic 
monitoring, short-term periods of confinement, substance abuse assessment, monitoring, and 
treatment, participation in educational programs or vocational skills development.  Whether a 
probationer is subject to more stringent conditions is determined by the results of a risk-needs 
assessment administered by the Department of Public Safety. 
 
All types of post-release supervision are supervised by the Community Corrections Section (CCS); 
CCS also oversees community service.  Supervision by a probation officer costs $160 per offender 
per month; no cost is assumed for those receiving unsupervised probation or who are only ordered 
to pay fines, fees, or restitution.  Total costs are based on average supervision length and the 
percentage of offenders (per offense class) sentenced to active sentences requiring post-release 
supervision and supervised probation.   
 
In FY 2017-18, 85% of Class I felony offenders received suspended sentences.  The average length 
of probation imposed for this offense class was 23 months.  All active sentences for Class F through 
I felonies result in nine months of post-release supervision (PRS).  Therefore, at a minimum, one 
conviction resulting from this bill will require at least nine months of supervision. The cost of nine 
months of supervision is $1,440 per offender ($160 per month times 9 months).4  For every offender 
sentenced to probation, the average cost would be $3,680 ($160 per month times 23 months). 
 
In FY 2017-18, 34% of Class 1 misdemeanor offenders received active sentences; 66% received 
probation.  Active misdemeanor sentences are served in local jails and do not require any post-
release supervision. The average length of probation imposed for this class of offense was 15 
months. Therefore, at a minimum, one Class 1 misdemeanor conviction resulting in probation will 

                                                 
 

4 Due to the effective date of December 1, 2019 and the typical lag time between charge and conviction (6 months), little impact is assumed 

for CCS in FY 2019-20.  Though some offenders may come under CCS supervision during this time, this note assumes an even entry over 

the course of FY 2020-21. 
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require at least 15 months of supervision. The cost of 15 months of supervision is $2,400 per 
offender ($160 per month times 15 months).   
 

TECHNICAL CONSIDERATIONS                                                

N/A. 
 
 

DATA SOURCES 

Department of Public Safety; Administrative Office of the Courts; North Carolina Sentencing and 
Policy Advisory Commission; Office of Indigent Defense Services. 
 

LEGISLATIVE FISCAL NOTE – PURPOSE AND LIMITATIONS 

This document is an official fiscal analysis prepared pursuant to Chapter 120 of the General Statutes 
and rules adopted by the Senate and House of Representatives.  The estimates in this analysis are 
based on the data, assumptions, and methodology described in the Fiscal Analysis section of this 
document.  This document only addresses sections of the bill that have projected direct fiscal 
impacts on State or local governments and does not address sections that have no projected fiscal 
impacts.   
 

CONTACT INFORMATION 

Questions on this analysis should be directed to the Fiscal Research Division at (919) 733-4910. 
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